Infographics: Sign Language in Politics


Find out in this timeline Deaf people around the world who have held political responsibilities and who communicate in Sign Language in the exercise of their functions.

Transcription for people with low vision or blindness:

  • 1990, Gary Malkowski (Canada): member of the Legislative Assembly of Ontario between 1990 and 1995. Party: New Democratic Party (centre-left).
  • 1992, Stefano Bottini (Italia): member of the Social Affairs Committee of the Italian Parliament from 1992 to 1994. Party: Italian Socialist Party (centre-left).
  • 1996, Alex Ndeezi (Uganda): member of the Parliament of Uganda since 1996 in representation of persons with disabilities. Party: National Resistance Movement (right).
  • 1999, Wilma Newhoudt-Druchen (Sudáfrica): member of the Parliament of South Africa between 1999 and 2014. Party: African National Congress (centre-left).
  • 2003, Sigurlín Margrét (Iceland): member of the National Parliament of Iceland (Alþingi) from 2003 to 2007. Party: Icelandic Liberal Party (centre).
  • 2004, Helga Stevens (Belgium): Member of the Flemish Parliament between 2004-2014, member of the Senate of Belgium between 2007 and 2014 and European Parliament since 2014. New Flemish Alliance (right).
  • 2007,  Dimitra Arapoglou (Greece): Member of the Hellenic Parliament between 2007 and 2009. Party: Orthodox Popular Concentration (right).
  • 2008, Raghav Bir Joshi (Nepal): member of the Parliament of Nepal from 2008 to 2013. Party: National Democratic Party (centre-right).
  • 2009, Ádám Kósa (Hungary): Member of the European Parliament since 2009. Party: Fidesz - Hungarian Civic Union (right).
  • 2009, Helene Jarmer (Austria): Member of the Parliament at the National Council of Austria between 2009 and 2017. Party: The Greens, Die Grünen (centre left).
  • 2010, Gergely Tapolczai (Hungary): Member of the Parliament of Hungary since 2010. Party: Fidesz - Hungarian Civic Union (right).
  • 2011, Martin Vahemäe-Zierold (Germany): member of the Berlin-Mitte District Assembly between 2011 and 2016. Party: Alliance 90/The Greens (centre-left).
  • 2015, Pilar Lima (Spain): Senator in the Cortes Generales since 2015. Party: Podemos (left).
  • 2015, Camila Ramírez (Uruguay): member of the Parliament of Uruguay in 2015. However, the Chamber does not allow access to Uruguayan Sign Language interpreters. National Party (right).
  • 2016, Thierry Klein (France): Mayor of Chambrey (Grand Est) since 2016.
  • 2018, Amanda Folendorf (United States): Mayor of Angels Camp (State of California) since 2018.
[update 01-21-2021]: 2019, Gabriel González (Panama): Vice Minister of Culture in the Republic of Panama.

[update 01-25-2022]: 2021, Víctor Zurita (Mexico): deputy in the Michoacán State Congress representing electoral district 10, in Morelia.

[update 07-02-2022]: 2021, Manon Zecca (Switzerland): member of the Lausanne City Council.

You can find all the Unusualverse infographics here.

(Click the image to download)

Gary Malkowski, Alex Ndeezi, Wilma Newhoudt-Druchen, Helga Stevens, Dimitra Arapoglou, Adam Kosa, Helene Jarmer, Gergely Tapolczai, Pilar Lima, Camila Ramírez, Amanda Folendorf, Thierry Klein

Post a Comment

* Por favor, no hagas spam aquí. El spam será eliminado.
  1. First of all, thank you for the great information. It is really appreciated but again The information given for Raghav Bir Joshi need some correction; he represented in the constitutional assembly (the historic constitution making process of country-Nepal) as member of constituent and parliament (both) and He represented; Nepal Communist Part (United) in short CPN-United (Left)

Post a Comment
Unusualverse Android App

#buttons=(Accept) #days=(30)

This site uses Google cookies to provide its services and to analyse its traffic. Your IP address and user-agent are shared with Google, along with performance and security metrics, to ensure quality of service, generate usage statistics, and detect and resolve abuses. Know more
Accept !
Go up